E.6th Street Austin,Texas

index0525151322-00IMG_6303This here’s a story about E.6th Street,Austin,Texas.I had the pleasure of visiting this street twice,once mid-week during the daytime hours and one Saturday nite.Being a country boy from New Hampshire,I can honestly say I have never seen the beat of it.During the daytime when activity is low,you can stop and look at the various shops,clubs,and restaurants to get the feel of this well known and famous street.On Saturday nite-I’ll get to that later.

Just as curiosity killed the cat,I couldn’t help but wonder how all of this got started,the origins of 6th Street.I am certainly not a historian but did do some research on this subject and in doing so discovered many interesting facts about this street.It was easy for me to see what happens on this street as a normal and every day occurrence and think it has always been this way but such is not the case.I will share with you some of the past that I discovered

6th Street was formerly named Pecan Street under Austin’s older naming convention,which had east-west streets named after trees and north-south streets named after Texas rivers which I believe still remains.The origins of 6th Street go back to the 1800’s when most of the structures were built as two of three story masonry Victorian commercial architecture.If you look closely during the daytime,you will see that this is the case-many older looking buildings that still stand straight and will for a long time to come.

The area around nearby 4th Street and 6th Street has been a major entertainment district since the 1970’s.Many bars,clubs,music venues,and shopping destinations are located on E.6th Street between Congress Ave. and Interstate 35 and offer live music at one time or another during the week.Traffic is generally blocked on E.6th Street on weekend evenings,and football home games,as well as holidays and special events to allow the crowds to walk unfettered to the many venues that line the street.

E.6th Street,known locally as Dirty Sixth plays host to a wide variety of events each year,ranging from music and film festivals(such as South by Southwest)to biker rallies(such as The Republic of Texas Biker Rally) and the Pecan Street Festival.Due to the festivals positive turnout,the celebration became a biannual spring and fall tradition,honoring 6th Street’s original name,Pecan Street.The positive turnout that I mentioned attracted more than 300,000 people,generating an economic impact of more than $43 million in 2010.

Now a brief personal experience blog which I bring from memory of my Saturday nite at E.6th Street.First Nikki,Erin,and myself dined at a mexican restaurant named The Iron Cactus(I know I have already mentioned this)and then proceeded to walk the street checking out all there was to see and there was plenty!There was live music being played and when I say live,I actually touched the drummer(I like to drum)of one of the rock bands on the shoulder from the street-everything was wide open!There was acting,magic shows,turtle races,bands playing with great singing,anything and everything you could imagine on one small street.Actually it’s not small but there is so much to do in a small area it seems that way.So her I go wandering into a club that is wide open to the street with a rock band cranking out loud music and I start dancing wherever I happen to be standing with three nice looking babes-I was young again!After a few minutes of that we all high fived and I was asked to congratulate one of the girls for her graduation which I did do.The three of us walked around some more and my daughter bought me a 6th Street t-shirt which I put on and am wearing as I type these words.

That’s it for now hope you enjoyed as much as I did.Bye.

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

The Daily Races

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow goonyathoughts on WordPress.com
