Talking About Texas

fpssHome-austinMonthly0531151728-00Hello Hello just back from Texas and what a time I had!It was kind of rainy when I got there but that did not dampen my spirits at all. The people that I met were all very warm and friendly to a guy who knew nothing at all about their beautiful state and the city of Austin where I stayed with my daughter Nikki and good friend Erin.I did a blog about the first place I ate when I arrived on May 20 called Hopdoddys and now I will tell you about the great Texas Barbecue establishment I had the pleasure of visiting and eating at called The Salt Lick located in Driftwood Texas.

This place is cool.I took a picture of the entrance which I hope is above me on the right side and a picture from their web site on the left side.You walk under the sign to the host lady and get two choices-you can go to your left and eat outside or to the right and eat inside,we choose left.Nice day,good weather,good choice.

So we get seated and very shortly ordered drinks.We are sitting at a picnic type table with adults and children all over the place in a very friendly atmosphere,there is food all over the place.Next we get menus to order food but my daughter,Nikki,who has eaten there before orders for all of us,whoops forgot to mention Josh was eating with us as well,he and Nikki are seeing each other.

Ok back to the food a family style order from the menu.Now this is where the fun starts.I’m sure all of you have been to a buffet type meal,you know like breakfast or chineese food where you grab a plate and load up with whatever you want and if that is not enough you get more.That is how it is done at The Salt Lick except they bring the buffet to you,all you do is sit and get served platters and bowls of food and long as you can keep eating!And I did keep eating.

The first serving they brought to us consisted of Texas style ribs (and they were yummo),sausages,brisket,potato salad,beans,cole slaw,pickles,onions,two types of sauce,one mild and one hot,and nice warm tender bread.But wait,as soon as you get near the end of that they bring more of what you want and as always you can take home whatever is left-cool-and I pigged out.If you leave that place hungry,you have been on weight watchers to long (sorry if you are).

Upon leaving we went into the cooking area where you can go and take pictures if you wish to and see all of the meats and sausages being cooked on a grill that must have been ten to twelve feet in diameter.The barbecue smell was incredible,it actually makes you hungry again.All of the food is there ready to be served and they just keep adding to it.Holy calories batman!

Ok for now,next blog will be about E.Sixth Street in Austin-being a country boy from New Hampshire I have never seen anything like it but I will again.Love it! I send my inspiration and love to all.

Image

Leave a Reply

Recent Posts

The Daily Races

June 2015
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
Follow goonyathoughts on WordPress.com
